Skip to content
November 25, 2009 / maidinmalaysia

A city named honest

The world is moved along, not only by the mighty shoves of its heroes, but also by the aggregate of tiny pushes of each honest worker.
Helen Keller

If i had to turn Kuala Lumpur into a person and define her greatest trait: I would say it would be “honesty”.

I’ve been living here over a year, and time and again i see examples of this trait .

First, I noticed it in the shopping malls. Everything is out there for you to take … and take advantage of. Rows of shelves with goodies that you can easily walk away with. Yet there is no constant policing. No in-your-face CCTVs.
Here people shop. They buy what they want and leave. How honest is that?

Second is the pay and park. Not all areas, are uniformly policed. There are some areas where you can get by without coughing up the 20 sen for an hour of parking. But almost never happens either. People buy the tiny ticket square, place it in their cars and go about their business. How honest is that?

my son has arranged the cars in our home. as you can see he is deeply influenced by the 'pay and park' meter system

Seatbelts were a bane for me. And so I peer into every car i pass by to see if there’s someone flouting the rule. And there almost never isnt. How honest is that?

I have a maid coming in to help me with my housework. She’s going on vacation for a few days. She told me she would replace the days by working on Saturdays (and despite the fact that i never even asked her to). how honest is that?

i read only complaints about teksi (sorry taxi) drivers in the newspaper. i have had the most comfortable of experiences here — teksi on call, the drivers help me load the pram while i clamber inside with my kiddies, return the change down to the last sen, fish out my babies’ sandals from the boot, … 9 times out of 10 it’s all good.

My milk (the one that I buy from the milkman) was spoilt. All six litres went kaput. And i called and told him. And he quickly came and replaced the milk. (All six litres). How honest is that?

Even the “return goods if you are not happy within a week” blanket rule all over Malaysia. Another rule that smacks of a country that wants to do business in a rightful and honest way.

Hats off, I say.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. malaysian explorer / Nov 26 2009 4:28 am

    Really like the way you look at life. I believe you’d do well anywhere with that kind of attitude. It’s all in the mind. You get what you set out to get.

    Cheers and keep up the cheerful attitude!

    Visit the Kuala Lumpur page for quick facts and interesting information about Kuala Lumpur.

    • maidinmalaysia / Nov 26 2009 1:09 pm

      i am really not as optimistic as all that in real life.
      – but truly your country has made me change certain perceptions. great place to live in. truly.

  2. CovertOperations78 / Nov 30 2009 6:07 pm

    LOL! Your son is a riot! KL folk generally do the best they can, but it’s hard to remember to be patient and courteous with the daily rush and bustle. I would say that KL folk are generous. I daresay our beggars make more money than I do. Charities here are generally not in want. I had a hard time naming any organisation in actual need when my ex-boss asked me to help his firm with a corporate social responsibility programme.

    • maidinmalaysia / Dec 1 2009 3:03 pm

      that is great news covertop… hats off to the corporate’s sense of social responsibility…

      in india, there is so much deprivation, wretchedness … and the population so vast –that it’s overwhelming for the private sector and the government alike.

Leave a Reply

